Skip to content

Join   |   Login   |   Donate  ¦ Contact Us



The IACFS/ME was founded in 1990 by Dharam V. Ablashi and Orvalene Prewitt, and was chartered in 1992 as a not-for-profit organization in the state of Oklahoma with the help and financial support of Mr. Edward Taylor, the first Treasurer of the IACFS. The goals set forth by the Board of Directors at the first meeting were to bring together researchers, clinicians, healthcare workers, CFS support groups and patients. This group could then learn more about this illness together through discussion, research, treatment and education. Especially focusing on educating physicians to diagnose and treat CFS patients. These goals have been achieved through conferences held biannually throughout the United States.

The IACFS/ME went through a phase when CFS was not recognized by most practicing physicians, despite recognition by the CDC and NIH. In 2005 the AACFS changed its name to IACFS/ME.


The IACFS/ME has now extended its membership and participation to foreign researchers and clinicians, with a new Board of Directors with international members.


In the coming years, the IACFS/ME wants to focus on educational projects for professionals and non-professionals, having close working relationships with patients’ groups, and establishing collaborations between researchers, physicians and patients’ groups.

IACFS/ME Awardees

The IACFS/ME has established a number of awards over the years to give tribute to individuals for their outstanding contributions to the mission of IACFS/ME.